Chocolate Chip Biscotti

I’ve never been a big fan of store-bought biscotti.  Unless it comes from a quality Italian bakery, it seems to be hard and stale by the time I eat it.  I know you are intended to soften it with an espresso or a steaming mug of tea, but I wouldn’t usually choose it over a soft, chewy chocolate chip cookie.  Or any cookie, really.

That all changed when I decided to make homemade biscotti for dessert after an Italian dinner.  I’ve been experimenting with different variations of this Giada recipe.  Strangely, the recipe title does not include the word “biscotti” but that is what you get.  Soft and chocolatey, with a pleasing crunch and a good shelf life.

I’ve left out the anise seed, but otherwise stuck to the recipe.  I’ve also added chopped dried cranberries and 1 teaspoon almond extract.  When using cranberries, I recommend reducing the amount of chocolate chips by about 1/3 cup.  Otherwise, the chocolate overpowers the cranberry taste.

I’ve also shipped the biscotti out-of-state via UPS and it has arrived whole and still fresh.  I definitely recommend this recipe for a homemade gift for that coffee, tea, or cookie lover in your life!

Comments

  1. I needed to share this specific blog, “Chocolate Chip Biscotti
    – 350 Degrees of Yummy” together with my best friends on facebook.
    I personallyjust simply desired to distribute your wonderful publishing!
    Thanks a lot, Howard

Leave a Reply

