Pumpkins, Pumpkins Everywhere!

‘Tis the season for pumpkin products in the stores and displays of mini pumpkins and squash at the store entrance.  I love pumpkin, so this is a welcome time, though I have been amazed at the growing diversity of pumpkin products.  It seems like there are more this year than ever before.  It’s exciting to see the pumpkin products arrive, and I suspect part of their appeal is that they are offered for a limited time.

In the last few weeks, I’ve seen pumpkin cheesecake, pumpkin bars, pumpkin macarons, pumpkin roll, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin cream cheese, pumpkin cookies (pictured), as well as the traditional pumpkin bread and pumpkin spice cake.  I spotted a pumpkin-flavored dark chocolate bar. I’ve also heard rumors of Pumpkin Pringles. Compared to all this, pumpkin pie seems downright boring!

Pepperidge Farm’s tasty Pumpkin Cheesecake Cookies

That’s just food.  As for beverages, I bought Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Spice Coffee and Stash Decaf Pumpkin Spice Tea.  My favorite Mexican restaurant has Pumpkin Margaritas on the menu!  I am also tempted by this recipe for Pumpkin Liqueur.  Not to mention all the delicious pumpkin ales out there.

I find this array of pumpkin products to be surprising because, amongst my family and friends, pumpkin is a love-it-or-hate-it kind of food.  For every pumpkin lover, there is someone who can’t stand the taste, or even the smell.  Granted, many of these “pumpkin” products don’t contain any actual pumpkin – they are just flavored with cinnamon, nutmeg, and other warm, homey fall spices.  I wonder how many people with a dislike for pumpkin are turned off by these products, even when they are pumpkin-free?

That’s not a worry for me – the pumpkiny-er the better!  I’ll post any updates on new pumpkin products as I try them.

Comments

  1. How have I never heard of those Pepperidge Farm pumpkin cookies?! I love pumpkin everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

