A Sweet for a Sergeant

The finished cake

I recently made this cake for the husband of a dear friend who is about to deploy.  The cake is based on the Air Force roundel symbol.

Ingredients:

  • Cake (two 9” rounds, one 13×9 – your choice of flavor)
  • Filling (I used this raspberry filling recipe – it’s seedless!)
  • Buttercream frosting
  • Blueberries
  • Raspberries (to coordinate with the filling)
  • Marshmallows

Since I was transporting the cake on a three-hour drive, I used marshmallows rather than white chocolate chips or white M&Ms.  Any of them would be delicious.

I definitely recommend using the optional raspberry liqueur in the filling recipe.  The filling was so good I ate the leftover with a spoon!

I tried Giada’s white frosting recipe.  It was tasty, but a little bit runny – I had to add about ¾ cup more sugar than the recipe calls for.  I also had to make 3 batches for a cake this large.

On the whole, I was pleased with how the cake came out, despite the summer heat and travel challenges.  I would recommend using this design rather than the more common USAF logo with wings – it’s much easier.

Enjoy!

Comments

  1. This design is steller! You most certainly know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

Leave a Reply

