My First Taste of Hummingbird Cake

I recently had the need to make a dessert that is specifically Southern.  I’ve always wanted to try Hummingbird Cake.  Initally published in Southern Living in February 1978, it is the magazine’s most-requested recipe.   There’s no consensus online about how the cake got its name, but it is likely something to do with hummingbirds liking sweet nectar.  Or maybe the woman who submitted the recipe, Mrs. L.H. Wiggins of Greensboro, North Carolina, just really liked hummingbirds.

Last year Southern Living published a Hummingbird Bundt Cake recipe, which is a bit less time-consuming than the layered version.  It can also be frozen ahead of time and just glazed when ready to serve.  Cooking Light has Hummingbird Mini Bundt Cakes, but I didn’t have a mini bundt pan handy.  The recipes for the full bundt cake and the mini bundts vary greatly, so I don’t think you can just pour the regular bundt batter in the mini bundt pan or vice versa.

Anyway, I made the regular-sized Bundt cake.  It is currently in the freezer, but a little taste revealed a complex banana bread flavor.  I think the banana overpowers the pineapple a bit, but the cake is really moist.  The pecan top looks pretty, and I’m sure the cake will look even nicer once it is glazed. Yum!

Comments

  1. I’ve never heard of, or had, hummingbird cake – I really should give it a go. It looks wonderful.

Leave a Reply

