A Slow Start to Baking in 2012

I’ve been on crutches since the day after Christmas, which has made baking a bit of a challenge.  I’ve been saving up recipes to try once I am back on two feet.  In the meantime, when I have had occasion to bake something, I’ve been more of a baking director, ordering my wonderful boyfriend around the kitchen.

I do have two notable recipes to recommend though.  If you like blueberry pancakes, you’ll love Stonyfield Farm’s Blueberry Shortcake Cookies.  Moist (thanks to Stonyfield”s yummy yogurt!) and fruity, they taste just like a pancake to me.  I was lucky enough to find fresh berries at the supermarket for a reasonable price, even in the midst of winter.  I’m not sure how well the recipe would work with frozen ones.

I made a Chocolate Banana Yogurt Trifle last Sunday for the Patriots-Ravens game,  Yes, I know that trifle has nothing to do with football.  It was, however, an easy dish for me to put together while sitting at the kitchen table.

I layered the following ingredients in a trifle bowl from bottom to top (quantity varies based on the size of your bowl):

  • Chocolate bundt cake (no frosting) (I used about 1 1/2 cakes)
  • Raspberry preserves
  • Greek yogurt (2 quarts) (whip in in a mixer for a few minutes to loosen up and become more spreadable)
  • Banana slices

    Photo courtesy of myrecipes.com

  • Chocolate chips

Repeat this, ending with yogurt on the top.  You can decorate the top with a few chocolate chips or some banana slices, but soak the banana in a little lemon juice first so it doesn’t brown.

I didn’t get a picture of this before it was dished out.  Maybe next time!

Leave a Reply

