Product Review: Dole Peach Fruit Crisp

I first saw an ad for Dole’s new fruit crisps in the Sunday coupons and was immediately excited.  Peach crisp is one of my all-time favorite desserts.  Could this fruit company create something that tasted similar to a good, homemade peach crisp for enjoyment when peaches are out of season?  I was dubious, but willing to try.

I had to wait a few months for this item to show up on my supermarket shelves, and even now, peach is harder to find than the apple varieties.  I recommend stocking up when you see it, because the peach crisp is quite good in its own way.

I brought the crisps to work with me, which was very convenient.  There are two crisps in a package, each consisting of a peach cup and an oat cup.  The peach cup is difficult to separate from the oat cup.  Once you figure that out, peel back the plastic cover on the peaches and microwave for 30 seconds.  I then sprinkled a bit of cinnamon on the peaches before stirring in the oat mixture.  I recommend using a larger bowl if you have one because the little peach cup can overflow.

Voila!  A little peach crisp.  It’s a bit syrupy and lacks the flavor dimension of fresh summer peaches, but it makes a good afternoon snack at work or anywhere there is a microwave.  It would have been great to have these in my college dorm room.  Plus, at 150 calories and with no artificial sweeteners, it is reasonably healthy.

I’d like to see Dole come out with additional flavors.  Blackberry, anyone?

Overall Grade: B

Note: I purchased Dole Peach Fruit Crisp at my local supermarket at full price.  This review is not a paid product endorsement.

Comments

  1. I noticed that the crisp was a little bit syrupy also so I just poured the excess out! So tasty! Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

Leave a Reply

